Sergei Rachmaninoff - Rachmaninoff Trio élégiaque


George Demertzis - Violin
Angelos Liakakis - Cello
Vassilis Varvaresos - Piano

Franz Schubert - Schubert Piano Trio


George Demertzis - Violin
Angelos Liakakis - Cello
Vassilis Varvaresos - Piano

Book your tickets

Safely book your tickets online


Special 4-Day Pass arrow_forward

Book your tickets



Minoa Chamber Music Festival - Sergei Rachmaninoff - Piano Trio

Sergei Rachmaninoff

Piano Trio "élégiaque"


Rachmaninoff's Piano Trio No.2, often described as "élégiaque", was written in 1893 when he was just 20 years old and it is dedicated to his mentor and close friend Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. Although a very early work, the mastery of his technique and his distinct personal style are already in evidence as a prologue of his later works. This is an extensive composition, written on a much larger scale than the first Trio with a deeply romantic style, saturated with moments of even pessimism. Those intense feelings are delivered by an extensive solo of the three organs, which are distinguished by an enviable balance. The work has three parts: from the beginning of the magnificent Moderato, it is evident the profound sadness it is doing, with the repeated pious accompaniment of the piano. The transition from deep frustration to the explosions of passion and lyrical 'narratives' of strings is unique. All this happens by using strings between strings and piano. The second part, Andante, quasi varizione, has also been written on a large scale. The piano in an extended solo tells the subject, followed by eight variants. At the finale, Allegro risoluto, the piano indicates the subject obviously influenced by Tchaikovsky. It is tough and is characterized by violent outbursts of emotion.


Ι. Moderato - Allegro Vivace
II. Quasi variazione - Andante
III. Allegro Risoluto - Moderato

Minoa Chamber Music Festival - Franz Schubert - Piano Trio

Franz Schubert

Piano Trio


Το τελευταίο Τρίο για πιάνο σε Μι-ύφεση μείζονα, Op. 100, D.929, είναι ένα αριστούργημα σε θεματικές ιδέες, συνεχείς μετασχηματισμούς και πρωτοτυπία. Ήταν από τα λίγα έργα που εκτελέστηκαν μπροστά σε κοινό κατά τη διάρκεια της ζωής του και το μόνο που εκδόθηκε εκτός Αυστρίας, πριν από το θάνατό του. Ο Σούμαν έγραψε, «το Τρίο του Σούμπερτ πέρασε σε όλο τον μουσικό κόσμο σαν ένας θυμωμένος κομήτης στον ουρανό". Πιο έντονο από τον επάξιο «σύντροφο» του, το Τρίο για πιάνο σε σι ύφεση μείζονα, γραμμένο περίπου την ίδια περίοδο, ξεχειλίζει από περιπέτεια, χαρά και ομορφιά. Μια περιστασιακή ακρόαση της μουσικής του Σούμπερτ προκαλεί μερικές φορές την αντίδραση ότι είναι σχετικά μακροσκελής, ίσως και επαναλαμβανόμενη. Μια πιο προσεκτική όμως ακρόαση, αποκαλύπτει ότι ποτέ ο Σούμπερτ δε λέει το ίδιο πράγμα δύο φορές. Με την αριστοτεχνική διαχείριση ενός συνεχώς μεταβαλλόμενου περιεχομένου, με την πρωτότυπη χρήση του χρώματος των εγχόρδων, την έμπειρη ρυθμική του αίσθηση, ο Σούμπερτ μετασχηματίζει το επαναλαμβανόμενο θεματικό υλικό του με νέο νόημα, όπου τελικά στην μεγάλης κλίμακας αφήγηση, τίποτα δεν είναι περιττό.


I. Allegro
II. Andante Con Moto
III. Scherzando Allegro Moderato
IV. Allegro Moderato

Meet the Concert's